Day 223: Morning Run

I don’t normally take morning runs, but I’ve been so tired at the end of the day recently that I’m having a hard to convincing myself to go run.  So, I figured I’d give dawn a shot.

It’s evening now when I’m writing this, and I don’t feel any more tired than I normally do.  Perhaps this morning run thing can work.  The only downside is that it’s still pretty cool in the mornings right now.  I’m not sure what the temperature was this morning at 6AM, but it was cold.  I managed to put in 2 miles at an acceptable pace (9:37), but about 1.5 miles into it, my thighs started going numb from the cold.  I should have had on one more layer of clothing, and I would have been alright.

I mentioned in my last post that I wanted to run one of the several 5k’s that are being held this month in Abilene, but I forgot about my 6-year-old son starting Upward soccer.  So, the next 5 Saturday mornings will be spent watching my son play soccer.  He did really good in his first game.  We’re not supposed to keep score, but he was.  He knew his team won 6 to 4 and that he scored 4 goals.  He even made sure to update all his teammates on what the score was each time one team scored.  He may be a little competitive.  Anyway, I’m real proud of him, so I thought I’d put up a few pictures.  The first one is of him headed for a goal, and the second one is him in mid-strut after scoring.  😉

Parker about to score

The Strut

Stats: 2mi in 19:13 @ 9:37 pace

Leave a comment